

# **REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING**

# Minutes

Wednesday, November 16, 2022 at 6:30 pm

**MEETING LOCATION: 520 N. Commercial Ave** 

(Council Chambers)

Council Meeting will be broadcast on Facebook Live

Click here to visit our: Facebook Page

# 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL / PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### Minutes:

**Mayor Bryan Chapman** opened the Council Meeting at 6:30 pm. The Mayor led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Council Members present Brenda DeHaven, Dan Hartman, Monty Leonard, Kirby Stucky,

Kramer Siemens Council Member absent \_\_\_\_\_ Others present Janise Enterkin, City Clerk;

Brad Jantz, City Attorney; Bill Bush, Harvey County Independent; Lee Nygaard, Police

Chief; Kyle Nordick

#### 2. ADDITIONS / DELETIONS TO AGENDA

### Minutes:

Motion by Council Member Monty Leonard to approve the agenda as presented.

Second Council Member Dan Hartman

Vote results:

Ayes: 5 / Nays: 0

# 3. HEARINGS/PRESENTATIONS/PUBLIC FORUM

# 4. STAFF REPORTS

a. Brad Jantz, City Attorney

#### Minutes:

**City Attorney Brad Jantz** presented Council with a draft of the Personnel handbook for Council to review. Discussed the IdeaTek contract.

## b. Bryan Chapman, Mayor

### Minutes:

**Mayor Chapman** introduction of Kyle Nordick as finalist for City Administrator and Lee Nygaard recommended him as Police Chief.

#### 5. CONSENT AGENDA

#### Minutes:

Motion by **Council Member Monty Leonard** to approve the consent agenda as presented.

Second by Council Member Dan Hartman

Vote results:

Ayes: 5 / Nays: 0

- a. Minutes of November 2, 2022, Regular Meeting and Special Meeting on November 3, 2022
- b. Approval of Payroll November 11, 2022 amount \$13,657.02
- c. Approval of General Disbursement Checks amount \$89,944.61

General Disbursement Check Reports

#### 6. NEW BUSINESS

Cox Communications Service Outage Update

#### Minutes:

**Council Member Brenda DeHaven** wanted to address the outages that have been occurring with Cox Communications. City Hall had received a flier stating that the problem was being addressed.

#### 7. EXECUTIVE SESSION

#### Minutes:

Moved by **Council Member Monty Leonard** to recess into an executive session for 30 minutes pursuant to the exemption related to Non-elected Personnel (K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1) for the purpose of discussing Non-elected Personnel. The open meeting would resume at 7:20 p.m. with those present in the executive session being the Governing Body, City Administrator, City Attorney, City Clerk and guest. Second by **Council Member Kramer Siemens** 

No action was taken in Executive Session.

Moved by **Council Member Dan Hartman** to approve appointing Lee Nygaard as Police Chief. Second by **Council Member Kirby Stucky** 5-0

City Council consensus to authorize Mayor to negotiate contract for City Administrator Vote results:

Ayes: 5 / Nays: 0

# 8. ADJOURN

#### Minutes:

Motion by **Council Member Kirby Stucky** to adjourn the Regular Council meeting at 7:24 PM.

Second by Council Member Dan Hartman

Vote results:

Ayes: 5 / Nays: 0